Who runs the Web Marketing Association?

The WMA is an all volunteer organization founded in Boston in 1997.  The current President and a founder of the Web Marketing Association is William Rice.  Bill is a 20 year financial services marketing veteran who is currently Managing Partner of the Wealth Management News Service.  Bill, along with many other Internet marketing professionals saw a need for Web-based award competitions and in 1997 began the WMA to offer the annual WebAward Competition for Web site development.  Today the Bill works with hundreds of number of volunteers internationally to conduct the annual award competitions.

Who are the members of the Web Marketing Association?

Anyone who has participated in the WebAward or IAC Award Competitions, or who was selected as a judge for a competition is considered a member of the Web Marketing Association.

How much does it cost?

There is no cost for membership at this time.

Do you sponsor seminars or conferences?

At this time we do not sponsor any seminars or conferences, although the Web Marketing Association has participated and sponsored well attended panels at such leading industry conferences such as Internet World.

How do I become a sponsor of the Web Marketing Association?

Each year, the Web Marketing Association hand picks a group of influential companies to be invited to become a sponsor of the WebAward Competition and IAC Awards. If you are interested in being considered as a sponsor, please email sponsor@webmarketingassociation.org

Can you tell me more about the WebAward Competition or the IAC Awards?

Complete information about the WebAward competition can be found on its Web site at www.webaward.org and www.advertisingcompetition.org for the IAC Awards.

Why does the WMA not release information about who competed in which category for the WebAward Competition?

The Competitions run by the WMA are specifically designed to help Web professionals promote their work and themselves.  From the beginning we did not want the best of industry winners to be able to promote their award at another site's expense.  So in order to minimize this possibility, we do not release category information.

Why are the 1999 winners of the IAC Awards not in the winners database?

The IAC Awards first were conducted in 1999 using a different awards format.  The advertising award competition was not conducted in between 2000 and 2002.  A list of the 1999 winners is available on the IAC Awards winners page.  

How do you pick the judges for your competitions?

Each year, the vast majority of competition judges are selected from past judges.  We do post a call for judges form on each competition web site during the call for entry period to allow Web professionals interested in participating as a judge to nominate themselves for consideration.

Do you have to live in the United States to participate in WMA events?

No, competition entries and judges have come from more than 20 countries around the globe, including the United States, Canada, Mexico, United Kingdom, France, Spain, South Africa, China, Hong Kong, Turkey, Israel,  Saudi Arabia, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland, Germany, Greenland, and many others.

Is the Web Marketing Association planning any new competitions in the future?

We are always interested in finding new ways to promote the work of Internet professionals through marketing competitions.  We are currently considering two new competitions for future.  If you have any suggestions for new competitions please email us at suggestions@webmarketingassociation.org